The Early Years: What I wish I had known.

I remember well my first few years of teaching – they were intense.  Over the years, I have concluded that there are a few lessons that I wish I had learned earlier in my teaching career:

Lesson 1:
I wish I would have known that I would feel like I had sold my soul to my new profession
To eat, breathe, and sleep ‘work’, yet still always feeling like you can hardly keep your head above water – this was my first year of teaching.  Social events were a distant memory, a balanced life a foreign concept, and stress an ever-present companion.  To add insult to injury, public perception of the job includes many who believe that teaching is a cushy job: a few hours of work each day and copious amounts of time off – and random people would cross my path and remind me of this.  Have they no idea?

And that I wasn’t alone in feeling overwhelmed
I worried that the extent to which I was overwhelmed and ridiculously busy with work meant that I was doing something grossly wrong, but what I was experiencing is often the norm for beginning teachers.

And that ‘overwhelmed’ would not forever be an inherent aspect of this career.
I had been told that the stress and time commitment would be greatly reduced as the years went on, but I doubted.  I wish I would have known with certainty that that was true.  It would get better – so much better.

Lesson 2:
I wish I would have known to tap into others as resources.
My third year of teaching saw me land a job at a huge school.  This school was the queen of collegiality and there I learned how to utilize my colleagues for the powerful resource that they were.  Beautiful, wonderful, time-saving, quality-enhancing things happened there.  They gifted me with binders of all of the materials that they possessed or had developed in years past.  Someone would do something new that worked well and would give their materials to the rest of us to add to our collections.  Someone else would try something new that ended up being terrible and would let the rest of us know so that we could avoid doing the same thing.  We would revamp tests and we would tweak each other’s work while giving feedback and encouragement.  We would share frustrations and joke together on the tough days to make them more bearable.  We journeyed the school year together, and it was wonderful and it was beautiful and somehow, suddenly, this whole teaching thing felt like it was becoming so much more manageable and so much more enjoyable.

Lesson 3:
I wish that I would have had access to the amazing network of teachers on Twitter.
My first year of teaching was in a tiny school.  We are talking three-teachers-kind-of-tiny.  The kind of collegiality described above just wasn’t a possibility.  I had so many questions, and wished I would have had more resources for finding the answers.  Twitter didn’t exist yet (even the Internet itself was still a novel concept) but it would have been the perfect tool for me if it did.  We are not all going to work in a huge school that loves to share resources and work as a team, but we can all access that same type of resource.  It’s all there – it’s online.  Twitter is an amazing meeting ground for teachers to empathize with each other, encourage one another, teach and mentor others, and to journey the road of teaching together.  It’s invaluable.  I hope new teachers know how to use it (more on that in a forthcoming blog post), and know that it’s wonderful, and know that it will remind them that they are not alone.

Lesson 4:
I wish I would have known more about balance.
I had no idea how to live a more balanced life those first few years of teaching.  I wish I would have known that things didn’t have to be perfect – that the students can still learn from less-than-perfect lessons.  I wish I would have lowered my expectations for myself a bit that first year – to have given myself a little more breathing space – and just focused on making it through.

Lesson 5:
I wish I would have known about teacher attrition rates.
Teacher attrition rates are quite high.  That means that many teachers leave the profession – particularly during their first few years.  I wish I would have known that.  I wish I would have known that simply making it through the first year alive was a huge accomplishment.  That might have helped me with lesson 4 – lowering my expectations for myself.

As much as I would have loved to have known these things when I began teaching, there was one lesson that I learned pretty much immediately.  It was this one lesson that enabled me to put one foot in front of another and make it through those first years, and it’s the same lesson that keeps me going today.

The Ultimate Lesson:
Teaching is worth the sacrifices, the stress, and the everything else.  It’s worth it.
It’s worth it – this teaching thing.  It really is.  It’s not a job for the faint of heart, it’s not a job for the lazy, and it’s not a job for people who just don’t feel it (this is one job that you have to love if you’re going to stick with it).  But if you love it and if you stick with it, you’ll reap the benefits, because it’s worth it.
It’s worth it to see the eyes of a child light up with the wonder of new knowledge,
To see a child who always thought “I can’t” learn “I can”,
And to hear a child pose a deeply reflective question about a topic that’s being discussed.
It’s worth it to see a child from a tough home situation come to school – his safe sanctuary.
It’s worth it to see a child with a learning disability learn how to compensate and discover that his perceived limits are less limiting than he realized.
It’s worth it to hear laughter bubble out of a room full of children,
To see the look of pride for a job well-done,
And to experience the development of a micro community that happens each year.
It’s worth it to watch a child with Autism be cheered on and supported by his peers,
To see the students stand up for what’s right and confront what’s wrong,
And to witness leaders emerge from the group.
It’s worth it to hear the students debate after class about a controversial topic that was discussed during class,
To push a child to work harder and do more and have him come back and thank you when he does,
And to see a child five years later and have him still express gratitude for ‘those lessons I learned about life’ while he was in your class.
It’s worth it.

I could go on.  The list is long and it certainly doesn’t end here, but I don’t want to spoil it for you.  Part of the joy of teaching is composing your own list of ‘worth it’ items.  It’s a list that will keep growing.  It’s a list that you’ll need to remember.  There will be hard days, and there will be harder days, and then there will be days when you feel like you can’t even go on.  Reflect on your ‘worth it’ items.  They’ll keep you going.

The first few years of teaching might not be inherently wonderful, but they will be filled with wonder.  Dwell there and know that it will become easier.  It will become less time consuming and overwhelming.  Know that you are not alone.  Any veteran teacher was once a beginning teacher.  We’ve all been there, and we’re here to help.  You’ll make it through.  The second year will be so much more manageable than the first, and the third much more than the second.  You’ve got this.  We’re cheering you on.  Your ‘worth it’ list is ready to be written.

Leave a Reply

